top of page



The following UNESCO Member States confirmed their support for creation of an International Geodiversity Day prior to the General Conference meeting in 2021:


Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea,  Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, France, Gabon, Greece, Grenada, Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Lebanon, Libya, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mauritania, Monaco, Morocco, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Oman, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of North Macedonia, Republic of the Union of Myanmar, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, and Zimbabwe.


International Organisations

Commission for the Geological Map of the World

Geology for Global Development

Global Geopark Network

International Arctic Science Committee, Terrestrial Working Group

International Association for Promoting Geoethics

International Association of Geomorphologists

International Association of Geomorphologists, DENUCHANGE Working Group

International Association of Geomorphologists, Nordic IAG Network of National Geomorphology Groups

International Association of Geomorphologists, Working Group Urban Geomorphology

International Association of Hydrogeologists

International Association of Sedimentologists

International Association of Volcanology and Chemistry of the Earth Interior, Commission on Volcanic Geoheritage and Protected Volcanic Landscapes

International Geographical Union

International Geoscience Education Organisation

International Union for Conservation of Nature

International Union for Conservation of Nature, Geoheritage Specialist Group/WCPA

International Union of Geological Sciences

International Union of Speleology

Young Earth Scientists (YES) Network


Regional Organisations

Academia Europaea, Earth and Cosmic Sciences Section

African Association of Women in Geosciences

Geological Society of Africa

European Association for the Conservation of Geological Heritage – ProGEO

European Federation of Geologists

European Geoscience Union, Division on Geomorphology

Pacific Geomorphology Group


National Organisations

Argentine Geological and Mining Survey (Argentina)

Argentinean Association of Quaternary and Geomorphology (Argentina)

Association of American Geographers, Geomorphology Specialty Group (USA)

Association for Geoconservation, Hong Kong (Hong Kong)

Association of Geomorphologists in Bulgaria (Bulgaria)

Association of Polish Geomorphologists (Poland)

Association of Slovak Geomorphologists (Slovakia)

Belarusian Geographical Society (Belarus)

Brazilian Association for the Defense of Geological and Mining Heritage (Brazil)

Brazilian Association of Groundwater (Brazil)

Brazilian Paleontological Society (Brazil)

Brazilian Speleological Society (Brazil)

British Geological Survey (UK)

British Institute for Geological Conservation (UK)

British Society for Geomorphology (UK)

Cameroonian Association of Geomorphologists (Cameroon)

Canadian Federation of Earth Sciences (Canada)

Canadian Geoparks Network (Canada)

Center for Integrated Monitoring of the Natural Environment (Poland)

Costa Rican Association of Geomorphologists (Costa Rica)

Council for Geoscience (South Africa)

Croatian Geomorphological Society (Croatia)

Czech Association of Geomorphologists (Czech Republic)

Ecuadorian Committee of Geoparks (Ecuador)

English Geodiversity Forum (UK)

French Geomorphological Group (France)

Geoconservation Wales (UK)

GeoconservationUK (UK)

Geological Society of America (USA)

Geological Society of Brazil (Brazil)

Geological Society of Chile (Chile)

Geological Society of Greece, Committee for Geomorphology & Environment (Greece)

Geological Society of Hungary (Hungary)

Geological Society of Korea (Korea)

Geological Society of London (UK)

Geological Society of Portugal (Portugal)

Geological Society of Romania (Romania)

Geological Society of Spain (Spain)

Geological Survey of Colombia (Colombia)

Geological Survey of India (India)

Geological Survey of Ireland (Ireland)

Geological Survey of Slovenia (Slovenia)

Geological Survey of Sweden (Sweden)

Geologists Association (UK)

Geomorphological Association of Slovenia (Slovenia)

Geomorphological Society of Nepal (Nepal)

Geomorphology Group of Indonesia (Indonesia)

German Professional Association of Geoscientists (Germany)

German Working Group on Geomorphology (Germany)

Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Committee of Physical Geography, GeomorphologicalSubcommittee (Hungary)

Icelandic Geomorphology Group (Iceland)

Indian Association of Sedimentologists (India)

Indian Institute of Geomorphologists (India)

Indian National Science Academy (India)

Indonesian Association of Geologists (Indonesia)

Iranian Association of Geomorphology (Iran)

Israel Geomorphological Research Group (Israel)

Italian Association of Physical Geography and Geomorphology (Italy)

Japanese Geomorphological Union (Japan)

Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site (UK)

Korean Geomorphological Association (Korea)

Macedonian Geographical Society (Macedonia)

Malta IAG National Scientific Member (Malta)

Minéraux Industriels – France (France)

Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment of Russia, Geological Research Institute (Russia)

National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research (India)

Natural England (UK)

Natural Resources Wales (UK)

NatureScot (UK)

Nigerian Geomorphological Working Group (Nigeria)

Polish Academy of Sciences, Committee for Quaternary Research (Poland)

Polish Academy of Sciences, Committee of Geographical Sciences (Poland)

Polish Academy of Sciences, Committee on Geological Sciences (Poland)

Polish Academy of Sciences, Committee on Polar Research (Poland)

Polish Academy of Sciences, IGU National Committee (Poland)

Polish Geographical Society (Poland)

Polish Geological Institute (Poland)

Polish Geological Society (Poland)

Portuguese Geologists Association (Portugal)

Quaternary Research Association (UK)

Réserves Naturelles de France (France)

Romanian Association of Geomorphologists (Romania)

Royal Geographical Society (UK)

Russian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Geography (Russia)

Scottish Geology Trust (UK)

Singapore Geomorphology Group (Singapore)

Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts, Anton Melik Geographical Institute (Slovenia)

Society for Earth Scientists (India)

Soil Science Society of Poland (Poland)

Southern African Association of Geomorphologists (South Africa)

Southern African Young Geomorphologists (South Africa)

Swedish Geomorphological Group (Sweden)

Swiss Geomorphological Society (Switzerland)

Tokyo Geographical Society (Japan)

Turkish Society for Geomorphology (Turkey)

UK Committee for UNESCO Global Geoparks (UK)

U.S. Geoheritage and Geoparks Advisory Group (USA)

Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Geology Centre (Mexico)

Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Institute of Geology (Mexico)

University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Southern Switzerland, Institute of Earth Sciences(Switzerland)

University of Minho - Institute of Earth Sciences (Portugal)

University of Warsaw, Faculty of Geology (Poland)

bottom of page